Participant share… #2

Participant share… #2

Last Friday, we presented the second class of the three-class series of 50/50, a collaboration between Loo Zihan and Sinclair Ang. Given a choice between Black and White, participants were exposed to the way of dancing from different races: African Americans and White Americans. Zihan and Sinclair increased participants’ understanding towards culture and race in the history of Lindy Hop. We spoke to our participants to find out more about their thoughts and feelings towards the class last Friday.

It was good, because I’m not a dancer and I never ever dance. The first few times they did it, I could not follow, but at the end, I truly enjoyed it.

– Susi Sutan


Susi Sutan

Susi Sutan, homemaker

1 Could you relate to the themes explored during the workshop?

Yes. I came because I was interested to know more and I felt like I learn a lot. I thought it was very interesting, because when I came I didn’t know that there will be a theme like this. So I thought it was very good to talk about it (the cultures present in Lindy Hop) like that, and allow us to see it from an Asian’s perspective. It’s really cool.

2 How was your learning experience during the workshop?

It was good, because I’m not a dancer and I never ever dance. The first few times they did it, I could not follow, but at the end, I truly enjoyed it. It’s not easy to follow, but as time goes, it gets better.

3 Is this your first time at TheatreWorks’ events or 72-13?

Not the first time at this space. I have watched a show presented by (M1 Fringe Festival) here, but it’s my first time at TheatreWorks’ event.

4 Do you enjoy being at TheatreWorks’ events? Why so?

I think this workshop is really cool, like I’ve mentioned, I have friends who do Lindy Hop and I was actually interested but was scared to go to the classes. Then, I saw this kind of introductory classes, with someone cool like Zihan to talk about Lindy Hop. So if I don’t know how to do it, I can just watch him. This is cool, I hope you guys do more of these.

5 Do you like 72-13 as an arts space? Why so?

Yes, of course. This space is so nice. It’s very open, it’s just one big open space and when you walk in, you can just see everyone.


Up next, we have our third and final dance class of 50/50, by Loo Zihan and Jereh Leong. During this week’s class, Jereh Leong will be touching on topics related to sexuality, through Lindy Hop. Do join us for the last session of 50/50 on 18 Dec, 8pm/9pm at 72-13. If you’re interested, register for a slot here now!

Leave a Reply

